effi^instrumentation ] new project

I always prioritize instrumentation over effi/productivity/GTD.

A peer could be faster than me in the beginning but if she lacks instrumentation skill with the local code base there will be more and more tasks that she can’t solve without luck.

In reality, many tasks can be done with superficial “insight”, without instrumentation, with old-timer’s help, or with lucky search in the log.

What if developer had not added that logging? You are dependent on that developer.

I could be slow in the beginning, but once I build up (over x months) a real instrumentation insight I will be more powerful than my peers including some older timers. I think the Stirt-tech London team guru (John) was such a guy.

In reality, even though I prioritize instrumentation it’s rare to make visible progress building instrumentation insight.

留下评论