%%#1sustainable value-add(#1reliable career path):hands-on dev

see also letter to German (post)

Hands-on development, analysis, design, debugging, maintenance, prod support … I get things done. My job interview performance is even better than project performance.

I can do this till age 65, even though my memory will decline.

This is a typical white-collar job, knowledge intensive, and pays “reasonably well” in SG or China but “very well” in US and Europe.

All other roles I am less confident about, including management, Business Analyst, quant research, DBA, data analytics.

Given this #1 thingy, my future belongs to the US.

In SG, at age 50 if I’m given a programming job along with some 20-somethings, I’m likely to be more competent than them, but as Miao and Xiao An pointed out hiring managers may not give me a chance. The Singapore government won’t help me find a high-paying programming job.

Leave a Reply

